Hungry

I have become exactly what I did not ever want to be: the stereotypical pregnant woman. I waddle when I walk, I have chronic back pain (because I’m trying to walk as upright as possible), I’m almost always out of breath, and I’m hungry… a lot. Today I had a big bowl of cereal before leaving for work, followed by toast and Ovaltine once I got to work, then two peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, two cups of mixed fruit (courtesy of my mother-in-law), a cup of yogurt, and large fries for lunch. And I’m still really hungry. (For the record, lunch lasted from 11 to 1 – and I ate at my desk.)

I’ve noticed, though, that this whole hunger thing comes in waves. For a while, I’ll be in this constant state of near-starvation, but then a week or two later it dissipates and I’ll be able to eat (a little more) normally. Maybe my baby is going through a growth spurt. I have no idea. All I know is that I’m starving to death, but food doesn’t really have any real appeal right now.

Leave a Reply

