I hate Toys R Us

Except for the fact that there’s a very limited selection of baby supply stores near me, I would not set foot inside Toys R Us or have any dealings with them. Unfortunately, we don’t have the awesome boutique shops that my sister has at her disposal in New York or some of my friends have back home, so Toys R Us has to fill in the gaps left by Target. (I refuse to go to Wal-Mart – that’s another whole topic altogether.) In fact, I do as much shopping online as possible to avoid having to go to Toys R Us.

But my mother-in-law is in town and wants to buy us our baby monitor, and I’m not about to refuse. Ever the analyst, I did my homework and decided upon a specific model by Sony (that has 27 channels so it shouldn’t pick up too much interference from our hyper-electronic house). And, of course, the Sony website said that Toys R Us was the only local retailer that carries it. [sigh] So, after 10 minutes on hold with Toys R Us, I learn that, yes, they have it in stock. [sigh]

I’m glad I found a place to get it locally, but I just wish it wasn’t Toys R Us!

Leave a Reply

