QotD: Worst. Job. Ever.

What was the worst job you ever had?
Submitted by salaryman.

My worst job ever started out as a great job – but then my boss had a nervous breakdown and it all went to hell from there. It was 10 long years ago, when I was a new college grad and eager to join the working world. I started out as a Media Coordinator, quickly working my way up to a Media Buyer, and it really was a lot of fun. It was fast-paced, deadline-driven, and everything I thought I wanted.

Then it went to hell.

After my boss quit, I picked up the grunt work from her desk. Not the buying portion, mind you – I wasn’t experienced enough to take on five Top 20 markets – but the clean-up portion that no one wanted to touch. I also picked up her account management responsibilities, another mess because no one bothered to keep up with it. By the time I had my first anniversary with the company, I was working 16-hour days and suffering from chronic ulcers.

To make matters worse, I was shuffled from one bad supervisor to another, and the environment there was so toxic (try dealing with 20 uber-catty women), I couldn’t stand it anymore.

But I learned a few valuable lessons from that job. First, if you ask for help and they won’t give it to you because “there’s no one to do it”, they’re always able to find someone to do it when you give your notice. Second, it’s just as important to like your environment as it is to like your job. Third, no one should ever feel inclined to come in to work at 6 o’clock in the morning and leave at 10 o’clock that night on a regular basis, unless you’re really well-compensated for it (and by that I mean at least 8 digits to the left of the decimal). And lastly, if I’m so stressed out at work that I’m getting sick over it (and my boss has left because of a nervous breakdown), it’s definitely way past time I left. My mental and physical health are more important than the company’s bottom line.

4 thoughts on “QotD: Worst. Job. Ever.

  1. And lastly, if I'm so stressed out at work that I'm getting sick over
    it (and my boss has left because of a nervous breakdown), it's
    definitely way past time I left.Amen to that. The last school I taught at, I had a horrible administrator my last year. To the point that, one day, I told him I had an emergency meeting with my shrink, and he still insisted on dropping discipline bombs (yes, plural) on me. If you're getting suicidal, yep. It's time to leave…XP

  2. And then, after you left that awful horrible job, the rest of your life started. 🙂

    I had a tie for worst job. Either the hotel where the GM was seeing a shrink 3 times a week and the catering manager hated my guts because I weighed 50 pounds less than her, or the sales manager job at the racetrack where everyone lied to you on a daily basis. It's a toss up!

  3. You know, that really was an awful job. Sad that it started out so well and then took a nosedive. Those are REALLY important lessons to be learned, and I'm glad you were able to get at least that much positive out of the experience!

  4. Well, not to be a Pollyanna, but I try to look for the silver lining in every cloud. Even in the people I really don't like. (Those who know me well know the coded phrases I use to signify I don't care for someone. You know it's really bad when the best thing I can say about a person is "I like her shoes.")

Leave a Reply

