Something to expect, except I wasn’t expecting it!

So, apparently during or around Week 30 (I begin my 30th week on Thursday), many pregnant women can expect to feel something akin to a pulled muscle or a horrible pain in the groin area. How do I know to expect this? It snuck up on me last Friday evening!

I thought I pulled a muscle because I was getting out of my car on an incline and wasn’t supporting myself properly. It hurt to walk, to stand, to move, to sneeze – it was just very uncomfortable. I spent most of Saturday lying in bed, willing the pain to cease and carefully counting my baby’s movements to make sure he was okay. And since he was still very active and I had no cramping or bleeding, I figured it was just that: a pulled muscle.

Then Big Sis E, visiting from freezing New York with my two nieces, told me yesterday, “Ooooooooh, I think I know what it is. I think your ligaments are stretching down there, making room for the baby.” She thought for a moment and said (almost wistfully), “I’d forgotten about that!”

Well, I had a doctor’s appointment this morning, anyway (my mom accompanied me), and sure enough, my sister was right. (She generally is. It’s a distinction she’s enjoyed for as long as I can remember.) But you know, I’ve read What to Expect When You’re Expecting cover to cover at least three times now, and this was never, and I mean never, mentioned in any of its pages. In fact, I was prompted to call the doctor (on a weekend – I left a message but someone did call me back) to find out what was wrong with me because all the book says is to call your obstetrician immediately if you feel any pressure in your lower abdomen or groin.

And you know what’s even worse? It seems all previously pregnant women were in on this – they’ve all experienced this stretching and pubic bone-splitting feeling – and no one warned me! Please tell me this gets better after the first pregnancy. Although, now that I know to expect it, I don’t think it would knock me out quite as badly as this did over the weekend.

Leave a Reply

