Hopes dashed to the floor like shattered teenage dreams…

I’ll admit it: I’m too tired to get out of bed and head to the gym for a good, hour-long workout before work, but I’m not too tired to lie in bed and listen to the Today Show for an hour before crawling out of bed and getting ready for my day. Am I a terrible, hypocritical person? Perhaps. But I do relish those extra few minutes of shuteye between interesting segments.

At any rate, this morning, Meredith Viera kept talking about how caffeine isn’t as bad for you as originally thought, and how even pregnant women (like me!) can enjoy a cup (or 3) of coffee guilt-free. Now, I haven’t been a huge coffee drinker since college, but I do enjoy a cup of coffee once a month or so. And there have been mornings when I want, more than anything, a nice cup of coffee.

So, she’s talking with someone (I don’t remember who and I’m too lazy to look it up) about this Dutch study on pregnant women and their babies, and now they’ve got my hopes up. Then Meredith asks the dreaded question: “So, does this mean it’s safe for everyone to drink more coffee?” followed by the dreaded response: “No, it’s not advisable for women who are sensitive to caffeine to drink coffee while pregnant, but you should, of course, speak with your obstetrician about this.”

Damn! Foiled again!

One of the things I have to deal with on a daily basis (which, really, isn’t much of a burden) is that I really am a lightweight. One glass of wine makes me tipsy, one cup of coffee has me acting like Cornholio, and too much sugar – well, we don’t need to go there. It’s “everything in moderation”, except in my case, it’s better to just abstain.

But I just so wanted to know that I could have a nice cup of coffee on the mornings I really need it. [sigh]

2 thoughts on “Hopes dashed to the floor like shattered teenage dreams…

  1. i'm telling you, the today show was much more pleasant with katie couric 😉 she wouldn't tell you something like that. good luck with the coffee abstention!

  2. meh. don't you worry about what they say. really. i'm a lightweight, too. but a little bit of well, anything, never hurt anyone… just don't go absolutely crazy… 🙂

Leave a Reply

