An attempt at smaller meals

So, one of the ladies at work, witnessing the daily ritual of setting up my heating pad, suggested that I try eating small meals throughout the day instead of breakfast, a morning snack, lunch, an afternoon snack, a pre-departure snack, and dinner. Basically, she said, I should just have a bite of something to eat every 15 minutes or so, and that ought to alleviate whatever extra strain is put on my back.

And I’m trying it, but it’s not fun – nor is it easy. Here’s why: if I’m hungry, I’m going to eat. If I’m not hungry, I don’t want to eat. So this business of having a bite every 15 minutes is ridiculous. So far, I’ve skipped 2 hours, then had 12 crackers with cheese in the following hour. (Which, now that I think about it, is about the same as having breakfast and then my morning snack.) So, trying to get myself back on track, I have applesauce that I’m trying to portion out into 15-minute-interval bites for a while.

I’ll know soon enough if this 15-minute thing will help with the backache. If not, I’m going back to my 6 meals a day.

Leave a Reply

