QotD: It's Like Riding A Bike

Who taught you how to ride a bike?

Ahhh, a question for the ages. You see, I never learned to ride one. I can ride stationary bikes just fine, but not a real one. But not for lack of trying, mind you.

My dad patiently tried for years to teach me, bless his heart. I even succeeded for a few seconds before falling down for the thousandth time and refusing to get back on. My cousin tried to teach me before I went away to college, and a few ex-boyfriends have tried to teach me to ride one, too. Alas, I’ve just accepted the fact that it’s not going to happen. Besides, I can drive wherever I need to go now – it’s not like I’m going to ride my bike to my friend’s house anymore.

Come to think of it, it’s not like my friends ever lived within bike-riding distance, so I probably just lacked motivation.

6 thoughts on “QotD: It's Like Riding A Bike

  1. Yes, but I know how to drive now, so it's not like I need to ride my bike to your house.
    Besides, you and Staci know how to ride bikes (and even own bicycles), and you never ride your bikes to our house!

  2. Well, it's not like I could ride a bike to your house. I could barely stay awake for the drive over there!
    For the record, I can't drive a manual car, either… There are some things in life I'm just not meant to do. I've accepted it and am strangely at peace with this.

  3. ok please tell me chris can ride a bike — after all, who's going to teach lil caines how to ride? i don't think i'd make a good instructor on that 🙂

  4. Yes, Chris knows how to ride a bike. Of course, I don't think he's been on a bike since he broke his arm when he was 13 falling off the bike, but yes, he was able to master the laws of physics needed to ride a bicycle.
    Our son will learn loads more (practical) stuff from his dad than he will from me. I can only teach him to read, write, research, and perform mathematical equations up to intermediate algebra. Anything else will have to come from Chris – or on his own!

Leave a Reply

