To roast or not to roast?

My chicken aversion started subsiding a few weeks ago, and while I still don’t gravitate towards chicken, I’m certainly not hyper-opposed to it, either. The same goes for mushrooms, though chocolate still doesn’t appeal to me.

Earlier this week, I was flipping through my new Barefoot Contessa cookbook and found all these wonderful recipes that call for, well, roasted chicken meat. Now, I know how to roast a chicken. I’m actually pretty good at it, but after considering the labor involved (washing, prepping, seasoning, and roasting – all before picking it apart), I really don’t have the time.

Enter the pre-roasted rotisserie chicken from my local Publix.

I had to run to the store on Monday for a few staples, and since my husband and I were both working late, it was far better for me to grocery shop and pick up dinner on the same run. I bought a few pieces of fried chicken for him, some salad fixings for me, and a rotisserie chicken for me to take apart and use later in the week. In all honesty, I felt like I was cheating. This certainly wasn’t something my mother would do, I reasoned, and Jen would never do something like this. After all, they’re both very accomplished cooks (the latter being a chef to boot!).

Well, last night, my little rotisserie chicken came in handy. I worked late (again), as did Cute Husband, and by the time I got home (only 20 minutes after he did), I was beat. Normally, if we had frozen pizza available, we would have just heated that – but I had planned ahead! So, last night, we had chicken and dumplings – and it took all of about 15 minutes to make from start to finish. Of course, I also used ready-to-bake biscuits for the dumplings, but all in all, it was a super easy meal that took no time to make. Not only that, there was enough for Cute Husband to take with him for lunch today.

I think my chicken-roasting days may be numbered!

One thought on “To roast or not to roast?

  1. i'm all about shortcuts provided the shortcuts are good! i love the publix deli…..so go for the rotisserie chix @ publix! its good! plus, when do we have time anymore, really, to do things completely from scratch ? i sure as fell don't! GOOD shortcuts all the way!!!!

Leave a Reply

