QotD: 2006's Resolutions

What were your New Year’s resolutions for 2006?  How did you do?

Oh, I am so proud of myself when it comes to my 2006 resolutions. Here they are (with results!):

1. Make – do not purchase – all my stationery. This included birthday cards, wedding invitations, thank you notes, Christmas cards, etc. I am pleased to say that I successfully made all of the above. My husband actually commented the other night that a part of him expects people to make their own Christmas cards because he sees me doing it. That made me smile (and reaffirms that he truly is the best husband in the whole world!).

2. Be more active and lose weight. Okay, so this one really didn’t work so well, but I was on the right track until I got pregnant! I became more of a label reader (staying away from high fructose corn syrup whenever possible) and I take the stairs at work as often as I can, in addition to walking laps at least once a day when I need to get up from my desk and stretch my legs. I may not have lost weight (I weigh more now than I ever did), but I can say that I’m more active than I was last year.

3. Organize – and use – my scrapbooking supplies. I didn’t sit down to scrap as much as I wanted to, but I did use my supplies a lot more this year making my stationery – and I thoroughly enjoyed it, too! My husband helped me put up a cabinet in the office (soon to be nursery) closet, and after quite a bit of purging (I made my older niece an impressive First Scrapbooking Kit with my existing supplies), I had it fairly well organized… until wedding projects took over and I developed an affinity for stamping, too. [sigh] At least the bulk of it still fits into the closet.

4. Start a new job. I didn’t create this resolution until the spring when my old company got acquired by an evil empire. But, having learned from other past lives, I wasn’t about to jump into a new company/career without being 100% certain that this was the place I wanted to hang my hat (so to speak – no one really wears hats anymore, do they?) for the next 20 years or so. Well, I found my place in the universe this summer, and I couldn’t be happier!

5. Purge my closet. This was surprisingly difficult for me, only because I realized I have attachments to certain articles of clothing. Getting pregnant at the end of the summer actually helped me with this resolution because I was able to look at items and ask myself realistically, “This hasn’t fit you since last year – do you honestly think you’ll be able to squeeze into it once the baby comes?” Harsh, yes, but effective. Three trips to Goodwill later, my closet is much lighter. My shoes, on the other hand…

So, there are still things to work on (hence resolutions for 2007), but I got started on the right track this year for most of them. On my list for 2007: (1) Find friends who scrapbook (to help me use my supplies – and take away those things I probably won’t ever use), (2) Eat healthier (and lose the baby fat once he is born), (3) Keep up with friends’ birthdays, anniversaries, special occasions, etc., (4) Purge my library (I have MBA books that I really ought to part with and a number of self-help books I’ve almost memorized – not to mention all my scrapbooking magazines that I still haven’t sorted), and (5) Keep up with housework. I may need to rejoin Flylady for that last one – at least on a more scaled-down level, anyway.

Leave a Reply

