14 pounds

This is how much I’ve gained since I started working at my new job. Note how I put that, only because I’m not entirely certain how much I weighed at week one of my pregnancy. I weighed myself this morning (as I do every Wednesday) and gained 2 pounds in the last week. I’m actually happy about this because I hadn’t gained anything for the 6 weeks prior to that (I was sick for one of those weeks, though), and I thought I was doing something wrong. After all, it’s not like I’m not eating. But the doctor said that as long as I’m not drastically losing weight (or packing on the pounds in huge increments each week), everything is fine.

So, since I’ve been tracking (week 5), my weight has increased only 9 pounds. I’m not ready to pat myself on the back and congratulate myself for not gaining excessive weight (after all, I really don’t know for sure what my starting weight was), but I’m pleased. The baby’s growing (and may be taking some of my extra fat!) and that’s all that matters.

We are going to the hospital in 2 weeks and 1 day (which also happens to be my husband’s birthday) for our Fetal Anatomic Survey Ultrasound. I will call it FASU for short (not that I really think the term will enter into my daily vernacular, but this is the age of acronyms). Anyway, the exciting thing about the FASU is that we’ll find out if my niece is right and she is getting a boy cousin, or if there will be a little miniature of me running around. (That last bit is a scary thought to those who know me well…) Either way, I think this will be a nice birthday present for my husband from the baby.

Leave a Reply

