I am very thankful…

On this Thanksgiving Eve, I realized that I have a great deal for which to be thankful.

I’m thankful for my parents, who are amazingly giving and supportive, and wonderful role models. Sure, we’ve had our ups and downs, but I’m so glad they’re a part of my life. I’m thankful that they are still with me, and that my child will know what terrific grandparents they are.

I’m thankful for my sister, who has blazed a trail for me to follow (and sometimes stray) and is a tremendous voice of reason in the craziness I call my world. She’s incredibly generous and loving, and she has (almost?) always been proud of me. I’m thankful that my child will be able to look up to a strong, intelligent, independent aunt – and that his or her cousins are already excited about meeting him/her!

I’m incredibly thankful for my husband, whom I truly believe is the best husband in the world. He is sweet, loving, tender, and all those mushy things a woman wants in a man, but he’s also got this tremendous strength that I can pull from when I need it. He makes me laugh when I need it, he comforts me when I’m sad, he teases me when I burst into tears at the most random things… He is truly my collaborative partner and my very best friend. And I’m thankful that my child will have such a wonderful dad!

I’m thankful for all the material things, too. I’m thankful for the beautiful house I live in, for the awesome job that I have, for the (seemingly ever-shrinking) clothes in my closet, and for the food in my pantry. I’m thankful for my friends, both near and far, and for my health (sinusitis really isn’t that bad on the grand scheme of things). I’m thankful for all of this and so much more than I am even aware.

But this Thanksgiving, more than anything, I think I am most thankful for this little miracle of life that’s growing inside my belly. I’m thankful that I am going to have the opportunity to bring a little person into this world, and, through him or her, leave a positive imprint on the rest of the world.

5 thoughts on “I am very thankful…

Leave a Reply

