Can't… get… motivated…

I'm feeling better, though my throat is still very sore and I think I'm going to be on my Benadryl/Sudafed cocktail again today. I coughed so hard in the shower trying to get out all this gunk that I was dry-heaving for a while. Good times.

So, today we are going to celebrate Thanksgiving a few days early at Shirley's house. Shirley is our friend Todd's mom, and since our parents are out of town, she acts as a surrogate mother when we need one. She's also a nurse, very creative, and just all around awesome. I've been looking forward to this all week (though earlier this week I thought it was last night, so you can only imagine how happy I am that I didn't sleep through it).

Now, I've showered and I'm already dressed, but I can't get myself motivated enough to do anything else (except sit here and type). I need to eat, do some laundry, and chase away some dust bunnies. Make that a lot of dust bunnies. But I'm just not motivated.

Flylady
recommends setting a timer for 15 minutes and working non-stop throughout that time, then taking a 15 minute break before starting it up all over again. Not even that holds any appeal. I pulled out my timer, stared at it, then put it back. Fifteen minutes doesn't sound like a whole lot, but when you consider that I can barely walk for 10 minutes without having to stop and catch my breath, I think you can get a sense of my issues.

And now that I've vented, I feel like such a baby. Maybe I just need to hear myself whine enough to get the drill sergeant in me to tell myself to suck it up and get moving. So, I think I'll tackle the laundry now. And then I'll treat myself to breakfast.

Leave a Reply

