QotD: My First Flight

Do you remember your first flight? Where did you go? Why?
Submitted by Laurel.

I don’t remember my first flight; I was about 6 months old and my grandmother took my sister and me to the Philippines to see my grandfather.

My most memorable flight, though, was my first trip to Hawaii in 1986 (it was the summer before 7th grade). Up to this point, the only time I flew was to go to the Philippines, and on our way to the airport, my father asked my sister and me if we had everything that we needed. I mentally checked off my packing list, then suddenly exclaimed, “Dad! I don’t have my passport!”

This was the day I learned that passports are not for every plane ride, just for international travel.

Leave a Reply

