Ramblings on cereal

I love cereal. I went grocery shopping today and got a box of generic Rice Krispies, some Cookie Crisp, and some Kix. In the house, we still have Corn Chex, Wheat Chex, Boo Berry, and Kellogg’s Corn Flakes. But there are just some days that you don’t want anything else to eat but cereal.

This morning, my husband opened up his box of Boo Berry (it’s really too sweet for me) and exclaimed, somewhat dismayed, that they changed the cereal. I didn’t really know what he was talking about; it was never a cereal I ate. But he said that it used to only be the little Boo ghost cereal and marshmallows. Now it’s got all sorts of other stuff in it.

Why do cereal companies have to change the cereal? It’s something I don’t quite understand. I remember back in the day when Lucky Charms consisted of “pink hearts, yellow moons, orange stars, green clovers, and blue diamonds”. Then they brought in the purple horseshoes. Then came the red balloons. Then the orange stars became shooting stars. Now the moon has some special design that’s uncovered when you add milk. It used to be a key. Now I think it’s a star or a face or something. And on and on and on.

The cereal aisle itself is intimidating. Not only are there what I call the “Big 3” of the cereal manufacturers (Kelloggs, Post, General Mills), but there’s the generic store brand and the generic Quaker Oats and/or MaltoMeal versions of the Big 3 cereals. It’s a wonder I only have 7 varieties in my house!

Leave a Reply

