I focus on the pain, the only thing that's real

I woke up very sore this morning, though not nearly as sore as last week. Kennedy had me working strength training – largely upper body – and abs, and a bunch of weighted squats and weighted walking lunges. So, guess what hurts? Yes, my upper body.  My arms and shoulders are incredibly stiff, though I don’t have that sore elbow that I did when I first started working out.

I hate exercise. (Note that just yesterday I wrote that I love food – that’s a problem.) I just don’t like to exert myself physically unless it’s to do something fun (like snowboarding, except that I live in Florida where there is neither mountain nor snow), which accounts for my heaviest weight ever. [sigh] I’m more than 20 pounds heavier than I was when I moved here 7 years ago, and that’s simply not good. It’s a combination of my metabolism changing (I’m 31) and my activity level decreasing (it’s so bloody hot here and I’m hours from the nearest beach, so it’s not like I could go rollerblading in Venice like I used to).

So, in order to get myself fit (not that I look unhealthy, mind you – I just feel that way), I joined a gym 2 weeks ago and signed up with a trainer immediately. And since then, some part of my body has been sore. Thankfully, Kennedy knows what she’s doing and the sore parts alternate, so it’s not always the same thing.  But I just don’t like pain. Or sweat. But I’ve already talked about that.

Leave a Reply

